Art and Design - awards and honors

Allison Rowe, Maria Dorofeeva, and Xuxa Rodriguez have been awarded Fellowships.

Art Education and Art History PhD candidates, Allison Rowe and Maria Dorofeeva have been selected to receive a 2017 College of Fine + Applied Arts Kate Neal Kinley Memorial Fellowship. Allison will receive $20,000 and Maria will receive $10,000.

Kate Neal Kinley possessed a keen interest in music and performance throughout her life. As a young woman growing up in Ohio, she studied music, and at the U of I she helped to found the Alpha Chi Omega sorority in 1899 and served as an honorary member of the Champaign Art Club.

Upon her death in 1931, David Kinley created the Kate Neal Kinley Memorial Fellowship to promote advanced study in the fine arts. This fellowship not only reflected President Kinley's earlier appointment as dean of the College of Literature and Arts but, more importantly, acknowledged Kate Neal Kinley's persistent dedication to the arts on the Urbana-Champaign campus. The first award was made in 1932.

Its continuance today is due to Kinley's original gift and to the dedication of family members. The Kate Neal Kinley Memorial Fellowship is also partially funded by the John Robert Gregg Fund at Community Funds, Inc., and The New York Community Trust.


Xuxa Rodriguez will receive a $35,000 Smithsonian Predoctoral Fellowship.
The Smithsonian Institution Fellowship Program is the Smithsonian Institution’s centrally-funded flagship fellowship program. SI Fellowships are awarded annually to scholars wishing to conduct independent study or research at one or more of the Smithsonian’s 19 units and research centers.