AD awards honors

The award recognizes the value of doctoral research to the profession of art education and its related disciplines.

Sarah Travis will be awarded, after being selected by her peers, the Elliot Eisner Doctoral Research Award in Art Education at the March 2019 National Art Education Association (NAEA) Convention in Boston, MA.

Her dissertation is entitled: "Portraits of Young Artists: Artworlds, In/Equity, and Dis/Identification in Post-Katrina New Orleans.”

The provost established the Energy Conservation Incentive Program in 2013 to encourage campus energy conservation through behavioral change and building improvements. Buildings which reduce their energy use by the greatest percentage over the previous year receive financial awards for future facility improvement projects. The larger the reduction, the larger the award. 

Each year, eight campus buildings receive ECIP awards in two separate categories: occupant action and energy advancement, which reflects energy conserving building improvements. All state-supported campus buildings are automatically enrolled in the program, and winning does not disqualify buildings from future ECIP awards.